One of those days

This is a mommy/wife rant, so I apologize in advance to any men/fathers that follow my blog.

Do you ever have one of those days where you want to punch your partner in the throat? No? Well, I do. I’m not perfect, so don’t judge me.

Today was one of those days. I’m totally over it now; mostly.

On Saturday we had a not-as-small-as-I-would-have-liked get together to celebrate Peanut’s birthday. At the end of the evening, my husband said that if I put away the food that remained, he would take care of cleaning up the rest of the stuff.

Can I tell you, those dishes were still in the sink up until this evening. Every time I looked at the sink I felt steam coming out of my ears.

This afternoon we took the wee babes to the doc for his rescheduled one-month check up. As a side note, little man’s healthy appetite for breast milk has resulted in a four pound weight gain in the past month and a bit! I guessed that he would be 12 lbs. No wonder he’s as strong as he is.

In the afternoon my hubby turned to me and asked what we’re having for dinner as if I’m the ruler of all the food in the house and make all the decisions about what we eat. Cooking is not his forte. He doesn’t enjoy it, but he will do it out of necessity, whereas I like to cook, but don’t always have the energy to do it lately. Anyway, I responded that I didn’t take any meat out of the freezer so it will have to be chicken fingers. Don’t judge.

We returned from wee man’s appointment just after 4 p.m. Keep in mind that he leaves for basketball at 6:15-ish. Upon entering the house, he plops himself on the couch and proceeds to send text messages to the guys he meets up with for basketball every Monday evening. I plopped myself on the other couch to feed the babes.

I looked at the pile of dishes in the sink, thought about dinner and who was going to make it, and the fact that I was at the time tethered to a baby via a boob and I literally wanted to punch my husband in the throat.

Finally, he got off the couch and started to put something together for dinner.

I know, I should have said something, but we’ve had this discussion soooooo many times, and I hate to nag. I guess I rather sit and stew.

Anyway, I was going to leave every last dish in the sink for him to do when he gets home from basketball, but I didn’t for a few reasons:

  1. I just couldn’t leave it looking like that for another minute. I can’t function in a kitchen if the sink is overflowing with dishes. It makes me crazy; and
  2. I wasn’t confident that he would actually do them tonight and I would be even more angry to see them still there tomorrow morning.

Seriously, I’m going to have to implement the whoever doesn’t do the cooking does the dishes. At times there seems like there’s an uneven distribution of household contribution.

You want to hear what I think is the worst part? He’s the first one to complain about the state of the kitchen as he’s adding another dish to the pile and walks away. Uggggggggghhhhhhh! He makes me crazy sometimes.

On the other hand, he’s great with watching the kids and that should be enough, but I don’t think it is when you’re a breast feeding mommy. You need a break from cooking all the time. Especially if you have a kid that seems to wait until you’re done cooking and just sit down to eat to start wailing to be fed.

Most of the time I either end up juggling the wee babes and his bobble head in one hand while shovelling food into my mouth, hoover down my food so I can feed him, or let my food get cold so that I can feed him.

Ahhh….rant over. Thanks for listening/reading. :-)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. J o s e y
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 18:00:57

    Geez, it’s like you’ve been in MY kitchen and MY house lately. This is exactly what my husband does, and I’m WAY more frustrated than usual lately b/c he is laid off — which means he’s home ALL DAY MAKING MESSES while I’m 40 weeks pregnant and working… yet when I come home, it’s a sink full of dirty dishes and “what’s for dinner?” GAHHHHH! STEAM out the ears for sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

