We survived

Well, that had to be the best Christmas visit we’ve ever had with my in-laws. My hubby, step-daughter and I were so pleasantly surprised.

And when my husband told the group that we couldn’t afford presents for everyone this year, his sister’s response seemed genuinely supportive.

As we were leaving, she asked me if I would mind knitting her an infinity scarf. Duh! Of course I can do that. I’m more than happy to knit her something. It’ll be fairly inexpensive, depending on the yarn I choose, and it will be made with love.

No seriously! I love making things for people that I know will enjoy them. In fact I think I will make an infinity scarf for my friend/personal trainer. She’s due for some updated knitwear. I’ll probably make a hat for both of them too.

(Please don’t ask about my knitted gifts that I was working on for this Christmas.)

Back to our visit…

We arrived at noon and left close to 6:30. A bit later than I would have liked, but I can’t complain since we didn’t leave my aunt and uncle’s place until midnight on Christmas night.

My MIL, FIL, and step-MIL were there when we arrived. I later found out that my MIL was surprised to see my step-MIL. No one told her that she was invited. However, she took it in stride and everyone got along.

My SIL’s partner made penne and meatballs, which was oh so good. She even made the pasta sauce from scratch. Yum!

Peanut enjoyed opening presents…even ones that didn’t belong to her.  :-)

My SIL and her partner moved into their newly built house not to long ago and it is beautiful. It’s s large bungalow with a large kitchen and a magnificent backyard that looks out onto a lake.

I found the family room to be a bit small for the size of the house, but overall it’s gorgeous.

I’ve expressed to hubby in the past that I’m open to moving to a bungalow when we look for our forever home.

There are certain things we’re looking for in our next, and hopefully last house, that we unfortunately won’t find in our current neighbourhood. We’ll have to look more north or northeast, which takes us away from easy access to the highway and transit for me to get downtown.

Anyway, that’s a conversation for another time.

This visit with the in-laws was pretty decent, and I’m happy that it was for my hubby. :-)

All the best for the upcoming New Year everyone!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. J o s e y
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 08:43:06

    Yay! I love when family holidays turn out better than expected. :)

    Reply

  2. newtorontomom
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 14:22:50

    ah, the never-ending real estate dilemma :)
    I hear you! And at this point the idea of a “forever house” seems impossible. What if I get a dream job 2 hours away from home? Anyway…

    I am happy your visit went so well :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

